Section menu

Notable Alumni

One School, many famous Alumni 

For nearly 200 years and across many generations of pupils, the Edinburgh Academy has produced leading lights in a multiplicity of disciplines.

Eminent Academicals

Guy Berryman (EA 1987-90) 
Musician – Guy is the bass player in UK band Coldplay.
He has been playing bass guitar since he was 16. Before forming Coldplay at University College London, Guy was in a band called Time Out while he was still at school. Guy initially went to university to study engineering later switching to Architecture but dropped out of his degree after one year to focus on playing bass with Coldplay.
Guy's musical influences include James Brown, The Beatles, Kool & The Gang, Pink Floyd, Lynn Collins, Maceo Parker and The JBs. Whilst at EA Guy played trumpet and drums in the school band.

Mike Blair (EA 1986-99) 
Rugby Player 
Mike was a Scottish international rugby union player and is now a coach. He played professional rugby union at scrum-half for Glasgow Warriors, Newcastle Falcons, CA Brive and Edinburgh Rugby. He represented the Scotland national side 85 times, as well as the touring with the British and Irish Lions in 2009. He retired from playing in 2016 and remains as a coach at Glasgow Warriors.

Edwina Brown (EA 1966–67) 
Edwina is Honorary Professor of Renal Medicine, Imperial College London. She was a medical undergraduate at Somerville College, Oxford and University College Hospital, London. Edwina undertook her renal training at Yale in USA and Charing Cross Hospital. She specialises in chronic kidney disease, predialysis, diabetic kidney disease, peritoneal dialysis. Her publications include research into peritoneal dialysis and patient outcomes, specifically older patients with kidney disease and/or on dialysis.

Francis Cadell (EA 1890–98)
Cadell was a Scottish Colourist painter, renowned for his depictions of the elegant New Town interiors of Edinburgh, and for his work on Iona. Cadell's obituary in EA’s Chronicle referred to him as a great character, a gallant gentleman and a brilliant artist 'who, had he been spared in good health, would undoubtedly have become one of the RSA's most distinguished Presidents'. Although this was only conjecture, there is no doubt that Cadell's death at the relatively young age of fifty-four deprived the Scottish art world of one of its most charismatic and talented figures.

Nicky Campbell (EA 1966-78)
Broadcaster and Journalist
Former BBC Radio 1 DJ, is now a regular presenter on BBC Radio 5 Live alongside frequent television appearances. He was awarded an OBE in the 2015 Queen's Birthday Honours List for his services to Children. He is a Patron of the British Association for Adoption and Fostering in London.

Archibald Campbell Tait (EA 1824-27)
Archbishop of Canterbury
After the Academy, Archibald Campbell Tait was educated at Glasgow University after which he entered the ministry of the Church of England.  He won a Snell Exhibition to Balliol College, Oxford, and later a Balliol Scholarship.  After taking first class honours in classics he became a Fellow of Balliol in 1834 and was ordained two years later.  His lectures, especially in ethics and logic, were highly valued and he became one of the most influential tutors in the university. 
He succeeded Dr Thomas Arnold as headmaster of Rugby School (1842) and increased the numbers. He left to become Dean of Carlisle in 1849, and in 1856, a disastrous year for his family (five of his seven children died of scarlet fever), he accepted the Bishopric of London. 
He was enthroned as Archbishop of Canterbury (the first Scotsman to hold the post). His books included The Dangers and Safeguards of Modern Theology (1861) and Harmony of Revelation and the Sciences (1864).  His biography was published in 1891 by his son-in-law, Randall Thomas Davidson (who was Archbishop of Canterbury for twenty-five years from 1903).

Anneliese M Day (EA 1988–90)
Having read Law at Cambridge University, Claire College and then Harvard University, Anneliese joined Four New Square in 1996, and now deals primarily with commercial and construction disputes, professional liability claims and insurance related issues. With extensive experience in domestic and international litigation and arbitrations, her career has taken her to Dubai, Doha, Cayman Islands, Hong Kong, Thailand, Singapore, the United States and several European countries. Anneliese won ‘Barrister of the Year’ at the ‘The Lawyer’ 2014 Awards and was named one of the 500 most influential people in the UK by Debretts in 2015.

Sionaidh Douglas-Scott (EA 1977)
Sionaidh studied philosophy, art history and aesthetics before reading Law at the London School of Economics and Political Science. She specialises in Constitutional Law, EA public law, human rights, and legal and social theory, and has published widely in these fields. A barrister and member of Gray’s Inn, she was Professor of Law at King’s College London before moving to the University of Oxford in 2007 to take up the post of Professor of European Law, Human Rights, Law and Social Theory and Public Law at Lady Margaret Hall. In September 2015, she joined Queen Mary University of London as Anniversary Chair in Law and Co-Director at the Centre for Law and Society in a Global Context. Throughout her career she has also held several visiting posts and lectured across Europe and the United States, including Georgetown Law School, Columbia University and the University of Bonn.

Charles Falconer (EA 1957-65)
Politician – The Rt Hon Charles Falconer is a Barrister and Labour Peer.
Charles was educated at the Academy and at Glenalmond College before going onto read Law at Queen’s College, Cambridge. Falconer became Lord Chancellor and the first Secretary of State for Constitutional Affairs in 2003. Later taking the role of the first Secretary of State for Justice. He is also Senior Counsel with US law firm Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher and Chairman of the AmicusHorizon Group, a Registered Social Landlord.
In 2010, he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Laws (LLD) from Nottingham Trent University.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now